And She Lived…











{September 11, 2008}   Spirituality

I have been thinking a lot about faith lately. For long time readers of The Bitter Ball you may remember that I was doing a series of posts on Faith at one time. I never finished the series because I felt I was going off course on the subject with my last post on False Faith.

Now faith is on my mind again. It is more than that though. My heart is full of questions that my mind can not find the answers to. I feel as though I am at a crossroads. There is something going on within me that is looking for something more. I am searching for something. In this search I doing a lot of reading on various things concerning religion, spirituality and faith.

Over at Chel’s blog she posted the results fo a spiritual gifts test that she had done. I decided to do this myself. Perhaps it could provide me with a bit of insight into my own spirituality. I was stunned by the amount of questions I had to mark disagree or strongly disagree for. Anyway, I thought I would post my results here so I can look back on them easily.

Score Spiritual Gifts Scripture Reference
  
89% Hospitality Acts 16:14-15
78% Mercy Luke 10:30-37
78% Discernment Acts 5:3-6

Hospitality: This gift is the special ability that enables the Christian to provide open arms, an open house and warm welcome for those in need of friendship, a warm welcome, food or lodging.
Mercy: This gift enables certain Christians to feel exceptional empathy and compassion for those who are suffering so that they devote large amounts of time and energy to alleviate that suffering.
Discernment: This gift allows certain Christians to know through the power of God and with assurance whether some behavior is of God or of Satan.

Sheila says:

Once I saw that there were 60 questions, I confess I decided not to finish the test. When I was younger, my keen sense of knowing things that were going to happen or were happening lead me and others to believe my spiritual gift was Discernment. But as time has moved on, it seems more likely that my spiritual gift is actually empathy – to the point of being this [ ] shy of empathic.

“Empathy is the capacity to recognize or understand another’s state of mind or emotion. It is often characterized as the ability to “put oneself into another’s shoes”, or to in some way experience the outlook or emotions of another being within oneself… Empaths sense deep emotions and have a deep sense of knowing.”

I started a blog a few months back to chronicle different thoughts and feelings I have regarding my faith. I call it “Stumbling Towards Heaven”. http://stumblingtowardsheaven.blogspot.com/
Feel free to stop by and comment!



Chel says:

If it makes you feel better, I had TONS of answers just like that. I think it means that we answered the quiz truthfully because you can’t be wishywashy about these things. You have to give honest answers that you aren’t comfortable doing something in order to find those things that you do really well. At least that’s what I’m deciding. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
