And She Lived…











{September 28, 2008}   Time To Start Planning Christmas on a Budget Again

Last year at the Bitter Ball I did a series of posts about doing Christmas on a budget. Well, with Christmas now just 3 months away, it is time to start thinking about all this again. Afterall, the best way to budget for those gifts is to start purchasing them as soon as possible. Spread the spending out over time rather than doing it all at once.

Again this year I will be posting ideas for making a wonderful Christmas on a tight budget. My plan is to post a frugal Christmas gift idea once a week until Christmas. (as my loyal reader know, my plans don’t always end up happening, but I will try) You won’t find they typical ideas like baking home made goodies or puting cocoa mix in a jar here. You can find those ideas anywhere, and besides… we all know those things already. I want to offer some ideas that might be unique and special.

Be sure to check back here each week for a new frugal Christmas idea. I will start off this week with a little shopping tip for you.

Shop Second-Hand

 

There’s no rule that says gifts have to be brand new. Scour thrift stores, yard sales, flea markets and other second-hand stores for some great finds. You may be able to find some wonderful antiques, collectibles or vintage jewelry for a steal of a price. A few other possibilities are unburned candles, books, paintings or vintage clothing. Also be sure to check for vases and baskets that you can use with other items to make a great gift.

Chel says:

I’m already into holiday planning over here, so this is right up my alley. I think we’re all going to have to be more frugal this year.

One thing some friends and I have already agreed to do is a Swap Christmas. This year, instead of buying gifts, we’re shopping our houses for books we’ve already read or CDs already downloaded onto iTunes or cool bags we don’t carry any longer. We’re swapping stuff we already loved for stuff our friends already loved. We’re sure to get great stuff without spending more than postage, and we’re recycling, too. 🙂



Sheila says:

Second hand shops, home made gifts and… Items I receive through giveaways, are what I am planning on this year.

I love Chel’s idea of swapping items from our own homes! I will have to see if I can get my siblings to go along with that!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
