And She Lived…











{October 27, 2008}   Menu Planning, it’s new to me

This is my first week participating in Menu Plan Monday. Since I am trying to add some variety to my family’s meals that means I have to start planning. Otherwise we’re going to end up continuing to eat the same old stuff. I am going to start planning our meals on Sunday and then going to the store to shop for the week. That’s pretty different from my normal style of looking in the fridge and cupboard, deciding we don’t have anything that sounds good and calling my husband at work to pick up something from the store on the way home.

His idea of dinner is usally pasta like spaghetti, as in a bag of pasta and a jar of sauce with some sausage or ground beef. We all like pasta but we shouldn’t eat it everday and it gets kind of boring. If we’re not having pasta then I will nomrally just make some type of meat, a veggie and a side dish that, oh ya, usually involves pasta. Pasta salad, macaroni and cheese, something of that nature. Or maybe potatoes. It’s a balanced meal but it’s boring and honestly I don’t usually end up eating much of it myself because I am not a big fan of eating a big hunk of meat or plain veggies. Throw ’em together, yummy… on their own, blah.

So here is my first MPM menu. Of course when planning this week’s meals I kept in mind my Attack Of The Killer Tomatoes theme for this week. So the recipes for these foods will be posted on the blog this week. Check back for the recipes for Italian sausage and peppers penne, homemade tomato soup, cilantro lime salsa, pumpkin tomato soup, and quick and easy chili.

Monday:
Italian Sausage and Peppers Penne

Tuesday:
Homemade Tomato Soup
Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Wednesday:
Tacos
Cilantro Lime Salsa
Chips

Thursday:
Pumpkin Tomato Soup

Pastrami sandwiches

Friday:
Chili 

MemeGRL says:

Mmm…cilantro lime salsa sounds awesome to me! Looks like a great week. Thanks for sharing!



Pamela says:

Yum, looks delicious! Pumpkin and tomato soup especially, I’ve never thought of that. Welcome to Menu Plan Monday!



Abbi says:

I really like homemade tomato soup (and really do not like canned!), that reminds me that I need to make some! Grilled cheese is very yummy with it too.



I used to do this meme, however I couldn’t keep up with posting for it. Although I do plan a menu every weekend before I go to the store, I just don’t blog about it anymore. It’s a good practice to get in too and helps with the grocery bills. 🙂

Pumpkin Tomato soup sounds like it should be interesting.



Chel says:

I’ve found the menu planning really helps cut down on our take-out, and we’re REALLY bad about take-out. 🙂 And it does force me to think about what we’re eating and what I’m feeding the kids. I still don’t meet the recommended amounts of fruits and veggies for them, but it’s getting better.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
